Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-10-07 12.18.49

I have been knitting hexipuffs for a Beekeeper’s Quilt roughly three years now, and I don’t have that many to show for it! I go through bursts of knitting a few and then put it aside for months. Part of my lack of motivation is that I mark the yarn scraps as “used up” when I put them in the vase I draw from for these puffs, which means that actually knitting the puffs doesn’t do anything for my coldsheeping numbers. I’ve been trying to unearth projects that have been hiding in my apartment (part of my decluttering efforts) so that I don’t forget about them anymore. Last week I pulled out the bag of puffs and finally counted them up…..a grand total of 78. Given that even a small blanket needs 200+, I have a long way to go. Still, I thought this was enough puffs to at least start seaming them together, so I spent a few hours last night putting together the shape on the left in the photo above. The pile on the right are those left to be seamed. This has revitalized my interest in the project, so puffs may start popping up in future Yarn Alongs again!

After my decluttering efforts with my books last week, I created a shelf of books I wanted to read again before donating them. They are mostly light fiction, so I’ve been burning through them very quickly. I think I’ve read 4 already, and Sanctuary, by Meg Cabot, is number 5. I like her 1-800-Where-R-You series, about a girl who gets hit by lightning and develops psychic abilities to find people who are lost. Like the Princess Diaries they are simple teenage books with lots of sass and a little romance. They are a little young for me now, so once I’m finished the series I’m going to pass the books on and hope some other teenage girl finds some entertainment in them.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Tania says:

    I love love love your puffs! They pattern is in my favourites because I saw it somewhere and loved it even though I had no idea until now what I was meant to do. Happy puff making….hope you do share more again soon.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Love your quilt! Eventually I’m going to start on one… I’ve sure got plenty of yarn scraps to use up!

    • Jess says:

      It is a great stash buster. It works best for sock yarn but there is lots of help on Ravelry for re-sizing the pattern to use heavier yarns.

  3. karen sue says:

    Well, perhaps I should send my sock yarn to my mom with the pattern for Hexipuffs. Eliminate my guilt and give her a new project!! I like the look of yours. And I’ve read some Meg Cabot, too and enjoy the easy read of them.

Leave a Comment

