Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-09-30 11.37.34

I have knit up all of my skeins of natural shades of Shetland wool (from Jamieson & Smith) into Vivid blanket squares. I had enough yarn for 20 solid-coloured squares, with a few partial balls left over. There are 9 shades in total, and the number of squares I was able to get per shade varies because these are leftovers from another project. Unfortunately I think I need at least 30 squares to make a decent-sized blanket, which means buying more yarn! Not that I am against buying more yarn, as a rule. I’d like to get more of the darker colours to balance it out, and I especially love the Moorit (brown) shade. Sadly, I am not buying yarn at the moment since I am in the post-grad school job-hunting phase and thus unemployed. So, this project is going to have to get tucked away until I can buy yarn again. But only once I block all 20 squares, a task that may last longer than my buying freeze 😉

I just started reading Notes From a Blue Bike by Tsh Oxenreider after listening to a few episodes of her podcast, The Simple Show. Tsh writes a narrative of her own journey to simple/slow/intentional living, and then examines the choices she and her family made through several lenses: Food, Work, Education (for her children, mostly), Travel and Entertainment. Tsh lived in Turkey as an expat with her young family, and I spent most of my teen years as an expat (with my family) in Switzerland, so much of what she writes about wanting to recapture features of her expat life in the US really resonated with me. There are other aspects that don’t resonate with me as much, since Tsh is a mother of three young children and a Christian, and I live alone, have no children and am spiritually agnostic. Still, Tsh is an excellent writer and I’m finding far more value in this book than in the general step-by-step “simplify your life” guides that have nothing new to say. If you are interested in slow living, I would say this is a definite must-read, as it promotes reflection and deep thinking in a gentle, subtle way.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. octoberrose says:

    I love your squares! This blanket is on my to-knit list. 🙂

    I have not read anything by Tsh Oxenreider (although I’ve heard about her and her book), but I heard her interviewed on one of my favorite podcasts (Readaloud Revival) and really enjoyed listening to what she had to say.

  2. Lucy Bowen says:

    What beautifully knit squares and such gorgeous colours.

  3. Pingback: Yarn Along – Seaside Mystery and Blocked Vivid Squares | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

