Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-09-23 10.30.28

This final deadline (to submit to a conference) is kicking my butt. I left it too late, of course, and now I’m scrambling. No matter what happens, though, it will all be done by Friday afternoon. Then I’ll have all the time in the world….at least until I actually get a paying job.

Meanwhile, I haven’t actually done much knitting or reading. I’m still working on my Vivid blanket, and I’m down to the last colour. I still haven’t decided whether or not to knit a few multi-coloured squares, but I only have enough for a very small blanket. I may have to put it away until I can buy more yarn…

I’m working my way through So Good They Can’t Ignore You by Cal Newport, which I picked up as soon as I finished The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. It is a thought-provoking book, and the author makes a lot of great points in a clear and concise manner. So far my only issue with the book is that all but one of his “success” stories involve men, and nearly all of his “failure” stories are about women. To be fair, I haven’t finished the book yet, and I’m rather sensitive to this issue. Still, it is something I picked up on only a third of the way into the book, which makes me wonder why the author and his editors never spotted it. Or maybe they didn’t think it was an issue. Regardless, as a woman it is hard to read this book without wondering if it this approach actually applies to me. Also Newport’s theory that you should do everything you can to build skills in order to achieve your dream job doesn’t really seem to account for a balanced life. It seems more of a workaholic’s manifesto. This is just my cursory reading of the text and I know many people have found this book to be inspiring and life-changing, so perhaps I’m missing his point. This book is certainly making me think, which is never a bad thing!

Oh, and the background in the photo above is a crochet blanket we found in my Grandpa’s apartment after he passed away. I’m not sure who made the blanket, although the colours are making me think it was made in the 60s or 70s. Some of the seams have come undone so I told my Mom I would repair it for her. It reminds me of an English paper pieced quilt, only cozier. In person I find the colours overwhelming, but as a background it’s not that bad…

 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. I guess life balance is the next one in the series. Beautiful crochet blanket. I like the colours and I wonder who made it. Makes me think that I really should label my makes more.

    • Jess says:

      Yes please label your makes! It makes me so sad that I have no idea who made the blankets and quilts we found in my grandparents’ home…my grandmother passed away first and she was the only one who knew. Admittedly knitted things are a little harder to label but it is so worth it down the road. I also like to label with care instructions where possible, but I knit with a lot of wool so I’m always worried about accidental felting.

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along – Seaside Mystery and Blocked Vivid Squares | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

