Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-09-09 11.17.46

Well, my plan to delay my Monday post until Tuesday because of the long weekend ended up resulting in no post at all! That’s ok, though, because I really did need the time to get caught up on all of this work that has suddenly piled up. Most of it is self-induced, but somehow I was surprised by all of it. So much for slowing down…

These socks have been hibernating for months, but a couple of weeks ago I finally figured out how I wanted to knit the toe on the first sock. That led to immediately casting on the second sock and powering through the cuff and most of the leg. I really should start knitting socks with longer legs since I always have so much yarn leftover! Of course, then I would have to worry about calf shaping and whether the socks would stay up…and it’s just not worth it. The pattern is a plain sock with a ribbed cuff, flap heel and rounded toe that I have cobbled together from various patterns and my own size calculations. Nothing complicated, but perfect for purse knitting. The yarn is some fantastically-dyed Fleece Artist sock yarn in the colourway Pinata that I bought on the TTC Knitalong in 2013. I just love the way it looks knitted up.

I briefly mentioned a YouTube series that I was preoccupied last week and it turns out that my local library had a copy of the book that was written based on that series. The series and the book are modern re-imaginings of Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice, which is one of my favourite books. I really enjoyed the web series, even though it took over days of my life, and I’m excited to dive into the book as well.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Lucy Bowen says:

    Gorgeous yarn, love that sock!

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

