Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-08-26 18.16.44

I’m still working away on my Vivid blanket squares, but I also just cast on the Moonfleet shawl with a gradient yarn kit I got at Christmas. The same errand run that got me enough embroidery floss to finish the Posie ornament kit also turned up the beads I needed for this shawl. The shawl starts with a horizontally-knit border, which you can see in progress above, and then you pick up one side of the border for the body of the shawl. The other side has little drop beads, you can just see one of them at the tail end of the border in this photo. There are seed beads scattered throughout as well but the ones I chose blend in so well you can’t actually see them at the moment. They won’t blend as well with the other skeins in the gradient kit so they will show up better on the other end of the shawl. The pattern is relatively easy to follow, but the beading is, as usual, deadly slow.

For some reason I’ve been reading and listening to a lot about routines and rhythms right now. I just started listening to the Slow Your Home podcast, all about slow living. I also started reading Daily Rituals, a book that compiles the daily routines and rituals of famous artists (and composers, writers, etc) throughout history. It is a fascinating peek into the extremely different methods creative people have used to keep procrastination at bay and actually produce something worthwhile. I’m learning a lot from it, especially with respect to writing, and I’m finding it very relevant since I’ve been working independently for several years now. In fact I’m more worried about fitting into the imposed routine of a new job than almost anything else about getting back into the working world.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Holly says:

    Love how your yarn and book match! I love the lace pattern!

Leave a Comment

