Small Successes

After my post on Friday, I did go out and buy thread to finish the red coat ornament. And then, I actually finished it!

2015-08-24 10.02.34

Isn’t it cute? I also managed to finish binge-watching That 70s Show, and filled time with a whole bunch of other productive-but-not-thesis things. My to-list app shows 23 completed items on Friday! I usually hit around 10-15 on any given day, so I am clearly in full procrastination mode.

Yesterday I attempted to reset my procrastination spiral….by not even pretending to work! That makes sense, right? Really it means I got out of the house and into some fresh air and sunshine. I biked from my apartment to downtown Ottawa along the Canal, then spent the afternoon enjoying the sunshine and the atmosphere of a busy tourist-filled city.

2015-08-23 16.19.09

I also spent a couple hours at Laurier House, this hidden gem right near the uOttawa campus that is full of treasures collected by Canada’s longest-serving Prime Minister, William Lyon Mackenzie King. The house belonged to Wilfred Laurier, whose wife Zoe gave it to King when she died. Both Laurier and King lived in the house while they were PMs. King willed it to the Canadian people when he died. Many of the rooms have been kept just as he left them. It is a beautiful house full of amazing treasures, although you’ll have to take my word for it because unfortunately I wasn’t allowed to take photographs inside. If you are ever visiting Ottawa (or live here) and are at all interested in Canadian history or architecture it is absolutely worth a visit. If you do, spring for the extra cost of a guided tour, the guides are very passionate about their work and know so much about every item in the place.

For some reason Laurier House isn’t well publicized so even many locals don’t know it exists. It was very quiet when I visited, but the Visitor’s Centre is very professional and the guides know their stuff. It is maybe a 5 minute bike ride from Byward Market, or a 20 minute walk. Even less from uOttawa campus. It is a great way to while away an hour or two on a Sunday afternoon.

2015-08-23 16.19.47

Laurier House also has a great veranda out front that is open to the public for free. You can bring your lunch and just hang out here if you want! They also host Afternoon Tea events throughout the summer, but those are now finished for the season. I’ll definitely be coming back next year for that.

After I left Laurier House I biked over to Major’s Hill Park to sit on a bench and read for awhile. This park has a great view of Parliament, Chateau Laurier, Notre Dame and the National Gallery and it’s always busy so it’s good for people watching too. I managed to find an empty bench in the shade and had a great time just relaxing in the beautiful weather.

2015-08-23 17.08.41 2015-08-23 17.09.33

So,  did my efforts at stopping the endless spiral of procrastination and stress really work? Well, after all that biking I was too tired to stay up late binge-watching TV, and I slept so deeply that I woke up with my alarm instead of snoozing for an hour. That hasn’t happened in a really, really long time. I’m on campus now, ready to work. I’m blogging right now instead of working, of course, but I have high hopes for the rest of the day. I’m not going to completely conquer my inclinations overnight, but I think I might actually be able to get back on track!

I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

This entry was posted in Ottawa. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Small Successes

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along | One Stitch, One Step

  2. Pingback: Blog Catchup – Mackenzie King Estate | One Stitch, One Step

  3. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

