Almost Finished

I had hoped to show you the finished Posie ornament set today since I have been obsessed with it all week. Instead, I somehow once again ran out of the bright red thread. And this is after Alicia at Posie sent me an extra set of thread! Either I misunderstood the instructions somewhere or the kit has less than half the bright red thread needed to finish this project. I don’t know which is true, but regardless I’m going to go out and buy more thread on my own this time. Alicia told me the colour number so that should make it easy.

2015-08-21 15.05.39

As you might be able to tell from this photo I still have half of the blanket stitch to do on the red coat ornament, plus embroidering the other half of the tiny grey mittens. I’m so determined to finish this that I am going to go out and buy thread as soon as I hit “post”.

My week has been rather rocky. I’ve had better luck focusing on preparing for my thesis defense, but it has still been a struggle. Then I discovered the YouTube series The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and lost hours of my life devouring that gem. Be warned. If you are an Austen fan, do not start watching that web series unless you can afford to spend hours on it. It is incredibly addictive.

My plan is to get some errands done today, when the traffic is lighter, and then pretend tomorrow is a regular work day and get caught up. My August goal of getting more sleep has not been working out for me, and I’m starting to feel the stress of the unknown. I don’t like change, and as glad as I am to be nearing the finish line of this Masters I am already sad that I’ll be leaving the university. As tough as grad school is, I have enjoyed it and I’ll be sad to leave it behind. Plus the idea of finding a job and then starting at a new place with new people is rather terrifying. No wonder I’ve been procrastinating on this final task!

Fortunately (or unfortunately?) the defense date is already set, and there is nothing I can do to change that. I just have to pull it together, get prepared and pass this final test. And then….well, I’ll worry about that when I get there. One step at a time!

This entry was posted in Embroidery, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

