Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-08-12 13.32.29I’m still knitting squares for my Vivid blanket and so far the pattern is still keeping me interested. The lace is fairly simple and I almost have it memorized, although there is one tricky row that I had to redo on a few squares. The garter stitch border is good plain knitting, and doesn’t take too long. I have four squares done, one on the needles and one that still needs to be re-knit on the correct needles. This yarn has been in my stash for years now so it is very satisfying to get it finally knitted up.

I’m reading two related books at the moment, Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman and The Organized Mind by Daniel Levitin. The latter is an e-book. Both are about how our brains work and how we can leverage our innate thinking patterns instead of being frustrated by them. I’m further into The Organized Mind and it is starting to talk about actual organizing of our possessions and lives and how we can try to lessen some of the strain on our cognitive abilities. It is very interesting, although it’s a little odd to read these two books at the same time since the two authors reference similar research. I’m having trouble separating the two in my memory, which gets confusing.

In other news, I submitted my thesis on Monday night so that is all done now! I still have the defense in a few weeks, which I need to prepare for, plus I need to start job hunting, but the biggest part of the work is done now. I took today and yesterday as “recovery” days and it has been lovely. My apartment is much, much cleaner now! I am definitely glad to be done the written work, but a little sad at the same time. A lot of my life is about to change and I generally don’t like change. Still, it’s a good kind of change so I’m just going to focus on enjoying every last minute of my Masters.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Becki says:

    Those sound like fascinating books. The kind of thing I love to read (though if you follow the link to my blog you’ll see I’m reading mindless fluff at the moment – and enjoying it, too). lol

    Congratulations on being done with your thesis writing. I hope the best as you give your oral defense. You have a lot of excitement ahead!

    • Jess says:

      Thanks! The books are fascinating, although The Organized Mind is turning out to be a little rambling, and ironically less structured than I was expecting.

  2. Lucy Bowen says:

    Well done on completing your thesis. The lace is gorgeous for the blanket.

  3. Pingback: Yarn Along – Seaside Mystery and Blocked Vivid Squares | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

