FO Friday

Every time I think this thesis thing is going to get easier or less stressful…it doesn’t. It isn’t getting worse, exactly, just maintaining a constant level of workload and stress that is slowly wearing me down. I’m at the editing point now, although I still have some writing to do before it is entirely finished. Editing should be easier than writing, and mostly it is. Except that I’m doing it at my parents’ house, which means I am out of my comfort zone. I’m not sleeping well, which translates into sleeping late every morning, and every day at 5pm a whole bunch of people come home that I want to spend time with. Unfortunately 4-7pm is just about my most productive time. I was doing ok until yesterday, and now I’m scrambling to catch up. Saturday I’m spending in London at a non-negotiable family event, and Sunday is now reserved for driving back to Ottawa, which I usually find exhausting. Monday (i.e. SUBMISSION DAY) is going to be interesting, to say the least.

Phew. Just that little rant made me feel better. On to more fun stuff! Since this thesis is Never Going To End, I thought I’d make myself feel a little better by sharing some the things I actually have finished lately.

First, the baby blanket! I actually finished this a couple of weeks ago and kept forgetting to share it. It was nearly impossible to take a photo without Knightley in it. He thinks it is his blanket:
2015-07-26 18.42.29And here it is all folded up:

2015-07-26 18.44.07I finished it just before the weather got too warm to have a giant blanket on my lap, which was excellent timing. Now it is tucked away waiting for the September Knitting Guild meeting so I can take it in for donation to the Children’s Hospital. I had fun making it and I hope whoever receives it enjoys it too.

I also finished a baby hat (the Apple Cheeks Hat pattern) out of some leftover Cascade 220. I probably won’t donate this one since it is a handwash-only yarn. I’ve been building up a bit of a stash of knitted baby stuff since they are great for using up small scraps of yarn. They will make perfect gifts once the people in my life start having babies, which I’m sure will happen within the next few years. And if it doesn’t I’ll find charities to give the pieces to instead.
2015-07-16 12.57.10

2015-07-16 12.57.29

 

So cute!

I’ve also been canning. Every year for the last 5 years I have made and canned tomato and onion “chili sauce” (more like a sweet salsa) for my grandfather. I even posted about it last year. My grandfather passed away early this year, and with him went any reason I had to make the chili sauce this summer. Or so I thought. Then my brother asked if I would teach him how to make it; turns out he loves the sauce and eats it all the time. We made only one batch this year and we made it together in the evenings after he got home from work, which is very different from last year but a welcome change. It was so much less work with the two of us! I’m so glad this “tradition” is continuing. Even if we don’t make it every year, or if some years my brother makes it without me, it is reassuring to know that some things don’t have to end just because so much has changed.

2015-08-07 13.04.39And now I’d better get back to my thesis, which I will finish at some point. Probably before I’m ready for it to be finished. Because isn’t that the way these things always work? This post is proof that sometimes I do finish things, and that the end product is usually worth the effort.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Canning, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FO Friday

  1. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

