Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-08-05 09.53.16

I’ve cast on more of the 2014 Rhinebeck haul! Last year I bought 8 skeins of O-Wool Classic Worsted to make myself a Splitstone vest. Something about knowing I had to swatch meant I kept putting it off, but last week when I was running out of projects on the needles it was next up on my queue. I bought the pattern, knit and blocked two swatches, then wound up half the yarn and threw it in my luggage so I could cast on this week while visiting my parents. The ribbing is taking ages and is on fairly small needles, but it has been great for quiet evenings watching TV with my family. I definitely want to start some of the cable charts as soon as possible, though!

Your Money or Your Life by Joe Dominguez and Vicki Robin has been on my to-read shelf for a couple of years at least. I even read it once most of the way through but never finished it. It was recommended by the author of The Simple Dollar blog (back when it was just Trent Hamm) as the book that changed his relationship with money. The book was written in the 80s, so some of the references are a little outdated, but the principles still stand. The reason I’ve been putting off re-reading it is that it is one of those books that has you actually do things at the end of each chapter, and I normally just blow right by those and keep reading. This time through I actually want to do the exercises and see what happens. I’m way more of a saver than a spender but in the last couple of years since I moved out of  my parents’ place I’ve definitely felt less aware of what I’m spending my money on. Going through the process of this book will hopefully help me figure that out, and also give me an idea of what kind of salary I should be looking for in a job once I graduate. Or I’ll just get stuck on the first exercise and the book will end up back on the to-read shelf. That is also a possibility 🙂

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

