Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-07-29 13.13.02I’ve been bouncing between knitting projects lately, trying to make sure I have everything ready for next week. The first weekend in August is a long weekend in Ontario, and I’ll be spending it with my family at a cottage. We also have some family stuff the weekend after that, so I decided to just spend the week in between at my parents’ house. Unfortunately that will also be the week I need to finalize my thesis, but I should be able to do it all remotely. I hope. All this to say I have started three different knitting projects, but I spent last night finishing a hibernating embroidery project instead! This is the first of three winter ornaments, part of a kit I purchased back in March. In case you are keeping track, this is the fourth project I’ve finished from the “pile of stuff” I posted about nearly two months ago. Yesterday I spent some time carefully blanket stitching the two halves of the mitten together, and then it was done! I need to buy some dressmaker’s carbon paper to transfer the designs for the other two ornaments, so those will have to wait for now. All that work last night only to decide I wouldn’t be taking this project with me on my trip. LOL.

I’ve had the book Flow, the Psychology of Optimal Experience by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (which also showed up in that piles of stuff post) checked out of the Carleton library for ages. As a grad student I can check out books for up to 4 months, I think. I’ve been reading off and on since I got it, and I was about halfway through when I picked it up again a few days ago. Then I got an email saying someone else had requested the book, and now I need to return it by Friday. Apparently that was the motivation I need because I’m reading much more quickly now! The later parts of the book aren’t as interesting, or as convincing, as the first part but I am definitely a “completionist” so I’m going to see it through to the end. Once this is done I will have only 1 library book and 1 borrowed (from a friend) book in my to-read pile. Such progress!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Embroidery, Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along

  1. Love that mitten, so cute x

Leave a Comment

