Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-07-22 11.26.16

I’m really enjoying knitting the squares/swatches for the Vivid blanket. Each swatch is a finished square, so it doesn’t feel like as much of a waste of time as normal swatches. I know swatches aren’t a waste of time, but they feel like it while knitting them. These swatches feel like real progress! So far I’ve completed 4 squares, although I need to re-knit the one on the far left since it was my initial swatch and I’ve since gone up a needle size. The one on the far right is unblocked. I have a ton of natural Shetland wool, leftover from a colourwork project I did a couple of years ago. This yarn is very precious to me, since I bought it on my backpacking trip 3 years ago, at the actual Wool Brokers in Lerwick, Shetland. I think I’ve finally found the right project to show off the yarn and work with all the different natural shades (9 in total!) that I have. I should have enough yarn from 25-30 squares, depending if I want to mix colours or not. The result will be a fairly small blanket, so I may supplement with more yarn at some point. Maybe some pale colours mixed in with all these natural tones…

I have so many books to read, especially some library books that need to go back soon, but the only thing I’m actively reading is the Lonely Planet travel guide for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick & Prince Edward Island. It is very slow going as I’m taking notes as I go. I really do need to get back to those library books though, especially since I picked up two new ones yesterday. Whoops 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along – Seaside Mystery and Blocked Vivid Squares | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

