Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-07-15 11.41.43

I’m perpetually running out of stuff to knit lately. Ever since I finished the baby blanket I haven’t had anything “mindless” to knit, and so I end up working on my small, portable projects in the evening too, which means I finish them faster than usual. The baby hat I was knitting is finished now (just waiting for blocking) and everything in my queue requires swatching. This is fine, except that then there is the wait time while the swatch blocks before I can continue knitting. I may need to get multiple swatches going at once. The knitting above is my second swatch for the blanket Vivid, which is really my second blanket square since each square is swatch-sized. My first attempt was a little tight so I’m trying on larger needles. While this is a very portable project it is not mindless until the garter border; the centre flower requires a small chart that I haven’t memorized yet. I have a strong desire to pull out my ball winder and swift and wind yarn for 5 more projects but I really should be getting to work on my thesis instead!

I just finished re-reading Getting Things Done (the new edition, as an ebook) by David Allen and now I’m back to the Lonely Planet travel guide for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick & Prince Edward Island. I had hoped to go on a road trip to the Atlantic provinces this fall, but that is looking less likely from a financial perspective. I’m also worried my car would fall apart halfway through. Still, I’m going to keep working my way through the travel guide and start planning for next summer instead. Planning for travel is almost like actually travelling, right?

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. I spent a ton of time planning my honeymoon, the first big trip I ever took. It was fun! I love the Vivid blanket, friends knit one for me for my wedding and it’s gorgeous.

    • Jess says:

      That’s so lovely of them! The Vivid blanket is beautiful, although so far I’m knitting it all in natural wool tones so mine not be as “vivid” as the original.

  2. laura says:

    Planning for travel is a great idea!!

  3. Pingback: Yarn Along – Seaside Mystery and Blocked Vivid Squares | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment