Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-07-08 10.24.05

Every time I put this blanket on the ground, Knightley comes running! He just had to be in the photo this week. Last week I bought some *more* black yarn, and I’m now 80% of the way through the garter stitch border. Once I finish this knit row and purl one more row, I can finally(!!!) bind off. I will do a final size check before binding off, just in case, but I think it’s the right size now. There are, naturally, half a million ends to weave in before I toss it in the wash and take the final photos. I hope to get that done as soon as possible, but the weather is heating up and with no A/C I may not be able to tolerate a worsted-weight blanket on my lap. I have nowhere to donate the blanket until September anyway, so it isn’t that urgent.

That rather nondescript book in the photo above is One Time Fits All: The Campaigns for Global Uniformity by Ian Bartky. I can’t remember what prompted me to check this fairly academic book out of the university library (they often re-cover their books for durability), but it is interesting. It’s all about how the Greenwich meridian was selected as the basis for all our navigation and time measurements, and to some extent how we went from slightly different local times in each town and city to uniform time zones across the world. It is a little dry, there are a lot of names and dates and places and not much narrative, but I’m still enjoying it. There is also a chapter at the end about Daylight Saving Time that I’m looking forward too. I’m sure there are more accessible books on this topic out there for non-academics, though.

I mentioned before I’ve been suspending my holds at the library so that I wouldn’t get inundated. Well, I forget to extend the suspensions and a few books came available that I wasn’t expecting! It was disheartening to have my to-read pile grow overnight when it had been shrinking steadily for the last few weeks. I’ll keep working away at it. Now that most of my thesis work involves writing rather than reading I’m having a much easier time reading in my off hours, which is helpful.

 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

