Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

Ok, today isn’t Wednesday, it’s Thursday. Yesterday was Canada Day, a holiday here in Ottawa, so I took the day off. I didn’t really do much of anything because the weather was incredibly stormy, but it was still nice to ignore my to-do list for much of the day. Anyway, here is my usual Yarn Along post, just a day late.

2015-07-01 20.08.03

 

I knit up every bit of the skein of sage green yarn I had for the border on the neverending baby blanket, and it wasn’t quite enough to get it to size. The blanket will be a donation through my knitting guild and the minimum size is 36×40″. I’m going to have to go buy yet more yarn to finish this thing! I can’t get more of the sage so my plan is to get some black and give it a garter stitch border. Hopefully it will look like a nice frame rather than something I just tacked on to get the thing up to size. I’m also debating doing a black crochet edge where the green border starts, to define the border a little more.

I suspended most of my holds at the library and I’m trying to finish the ones I have currently checked out. In the spirit of decluttering I’d like to tackle some of my personal to-read pile before getting more out of the library. Plus, I have some university library books that have to go back before the end of term. This book, More Not So Big Solutions for Your Home by Sarah Susanka, came from the public library. It is written for people looking to build or renovate a house, so it has absolutely no relevance to my life right now. I’m just reading it for general interest. I definitely prefer the furniture book I posted about last week, but this is still interesting.

Knightley came running as soon as I laid the blanket on the floor for the photo, but he didn’t actually lie on the blanket. I think he just wanted to be in the photo 🙂

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

