Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-06-24 11.25.53New knitting! It’s really quite shocking. Since the baby blanket is the definition of stay-at-home knitting, I knew I needed to cast something on to take home with me last weekend. I had recently purchased the Apple Cheeks hat pattern because of a discount code I had, and I knew it was perfect to use up some leftover worsted weight yarn and would fit nicely in my backpack. I ran into a tricky spot in the pattern the other day but once I was somewhere quiet I was able to parse out the written instructions and it all worked out. I definitely do better with diagrams than just straight written instructions. Still, the hat is interesting enough that I’m not bored, and small enough to take to and from campus, so it is just what I need at the moment. Maybe this weekend I’ll have a cast-on party and set up 2 or 3 more projects so I won’t run out again.

I was in Lee Valley awhile ago and was intrigued by The Handbuilt Home in their book display (of course I went and got it from the library). Written as a woman-friendly guide to furniture construction, it goes through the basics of carpentry and tools before diving into 34 “patterns” (what do they call them in woodworking?) for different furniture pieces. I’m not in a place right now to be building my own furniture but it was fun to read about it, add to my knowledge a little, and dream of tackling projects like that some day. My Dad loves woodworking, so I’ve been exposed to a lot over my childhood, but I haven’t tried much myself. I won’t be trying any of these projects any time soon but I can definitely recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about building their own furniture, it is very accessible and easy to understand.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. pdranch says:

    I enjoy your blog and am cheering you on in your thesis work. I believe that the furniture “patterns” are called plans. At least that is what my Dad always called them.

  2. Lauren says:

    My dad always called them blueprints or plans growing up. Wood is such a fun medium to work with as well.

Leave a Comment

