Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-06-10 20.15.23

 

I cast on for a cabled hat with some of the charity yarn I took from my knitting guild’s stash a few months ago. Don’t get attached to it, though, because I’m going to rip it out! I finally decided that the border I’ve been knitting on the baby blanket for the past couple of weeks just isn’t working, and that this yarn is a much better colour. Why I didn’t think of that before casting on the hat I don’t know, but there you are. I don’t like ripping out miles of yarn but I can’t keep knitting the border in the wrong colour! And after two weeks I know for sure I can’t live with the current colour. That’s the beauty of knitting, right? We can always undo it and fix our mistakes.

I’m still reading the book on Nuns. It is slow going for the most part, although I did get really into the section on the few early feminist writings coming out of seventeenth century convents. I probably needed more of a “primer” book on what convent life was like, rather than this more academic history book. Still, its a slim volume and there is enough that interests me that I’m going to finish it.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Becki says:

    I know for me, it often takes working a bit of yarn up to get a real feel for what it is best suited for. I’m tempted to think I’ve wasted my time (when I decide to rip it out), but I tell myself…it’s all a learning experience. That looks like a very nice color to work into a baby blanket.

    • Jess says:

      You’re right, it is all just learning! I just wish I hadn’t knit quite so much of the border in the other colour already…. But this colour is so much better.

Leave a Comment

