June Goals

This week has been rather intense. My user studies are ongoing, and my thesis writing has ramped up considerably, so my work days have been very full. Up until Wednesday I was keeping up with everything, but then Thursday was my sister’s Convocation ceremony (which was just about the best graduation I’ve ever been to), and then yesterday my day was cut short in order to catch a bus to Montreal. So I’m behind, again, and it is really stressing me out. It would be easier if I could just ignore everything else in my life for the next two or three months, but I don’t want to do that. I don’t want to miss out on anything. Something, at some point, has to give and I don’t know what it is going to be.

My goal for May was to stay calm; to breathe and stay focused through the overwhelm. I’m just finishing up the book Overwhelmed by Brigid Schulte in which she calls the time pressure of modern life “the overwhelm”. I really like that concept, and I’m trying to take a good look at my overwhelm to see if it really needs to be this way. I have had moments of extreme stress but for the most part I’ve been able to stay focused and work on what matters when it matters, so I think I achieved my rather nebulous May goal.

June should be better. My non-school-work is winding down now; the June quilt guild meeting is done and the last knitting guild newsletter just went out. I’m 2/3 of the way through my user studies. By the middle of the month I will have only one, overriding task left: finish my thesis. So, my theme for June is going to be write first. I’ve been leaving my writing until the end of the day, which then leaves me cramming to finish it by the end of the day. That leaves me drained, which makes the next day tougher and the cycle repeats. This month I’m going to try to change that, and do my writing as early as possible, to make sure it gets done and I don’t fall behind. By July 1st I should have 76 pages of my thesis written, on track to finish the first draft by the middle of July. That is my mission. Wish me luck 🙂

This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June Goals

  1. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

