Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-05-27 10.40.11

 

I finished the cross-stitch mittens! They are so cute, I love the thread colours against the grey felt, they just pop. I spent a couple of hours last night pulling out the waste canvas; it took me awhile to realize I could pull out one strand at a time out of the grid rather than slowly easing it out of each cross-stitch. Plus pulling the strands through from the outsides of the design kept the felt nice and flat, whereas tweezing it out from the middle made it a little fuzzy in some spots. Next step is to cut these pieces out and then sew them together.

I haven’t picked up my knitting in ages. I need to have a cast-on session so I can dive into some interesting new projects. The stuff I’m knitting now all needs thought and work and that just isn’t the kind of headspace I’m in at the moment.

I just started reading Holder of the White Lotus: The Lives of the Dalai Lama by Alexander Norman. It is actually a broad look at Tibetan history, with story of the Dalai Lama weaving a continuous narrative throughout. Ever since I read Across Many Mountains weeks ago I’ve been looking for a book on Tibetan history. I picked this one up on a whim from the library even though I didn’t think it would be what I wanted, and it turned out to be exactly what I wanted! So serendipitous; I love when that happens.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Lucy BOWEN says:

    The cross stitch is gorgeous and the colours are perfect.

Leave a Comment

