Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-04-29 14.05.20

So far my break from blogging has been going well. It has taken the edge off a bit. It seems that when I’m really stressed or down writing becomes very difficult for me, and I’ve had to save my writing efforts for some more urgent, deadline-related things. I hope to be back posting regularly here by early next week, if not sooner. My thesis writing is picking up as well so I expect to have more than a few photo-heavy posts in my future, but I don’t want to give up on blogging entirely.

The weather is warming up dramatically; today felt like summer more than spring! I’m loving every minute of it, although I wish I could figure out a way to work outside. At least my office has plenty of windows, and there is nice quad for me to eat lunch in. It is also a perfectly knitting/reading spot. My Brass and Steam shawl is coming along nicely, I’m getting into the darker colours now and I’m loving the way the transitioning colours are knitting up. It is going to be a fun piece to wear since it is already getting comments just on the needles.

On the reading front, I’m re-starting a book I attempted to read last year: Flow, the Psychology of Optimal Experience by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi. I had to learn to pronounce the author’s name last year when I was part of a group presentation that drew on some of his work, which was quite the challenge. Flow is the state of being when we are fully engaged in whatever we are doing, sort of “in the zone”, and our sense of time falls away. People experience it while playing music or rock climbing or running, but it can also be achieved while working. The more we are in flow, the happier we tend to be. This book was first published in the 90s, right at the beginning of a lot of the happiness research that became so prominent, and it was a very influential book. It brought the academic research that Csikszentmihalyi was doing to a much broader audience. It is a bit of a dense book, but I’m loving it so far. It is very thought-provoking.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along

  1. heathermama says:

    that shawl is lovely!

Leave a Comment

