Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-04-22 10.23.34

I cast on another bear for the Mother Bear Project to use up the leftovers from the Snowstorm cowl and hat set I made for my Dad. There was enough of the yarn to knit the whole body of the bear so I’m adding a skirt with some acrylic from my charity stash to break up all that blue. Plus I still have the last bear I knit since the box I was going to ship him in had room for two – now he’ll have a friend!

I can’t remember what sparked my interest in Tibetan history recently, it must have been something I was reading in another book. The library didn’t have a huge selection, but I found this book, Across Many Mountains by Yangzom Brauen, and put another on hold. The book is a memoir of the lives of the author’s mother and grandmother, who fled Tibet when the Chinese invaded in the 50s. It is a fascinating look at a culture I know little about, and heartbreaking at times. The language is a little flowery and romantic for me, and unfortunately it doesn’t really hit home the tragedies that went on at the time, but it is still a compelling read.

 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Zauberflink says:

    How wonderful your lovely bear is going to have a friend to travel with!

  2. Desiree says:

    Such a cute idea, the bear and a skirt! Adorable.

  3. Lynda says:

    Looks like an interesting book! I’ve just reserved it from my library. xx

  4. Pingback: Yarn Along | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

