Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-04-15 11.33.47

My striped baby blanket is still progressing slooooooooowly. The acrylic yarn isn’t the softest to knit with, although I know from my test swatch its softens up nicely. I also tend to get more hand cramps with thicker yarn, so I don’t knit on it for too long. Just a little after dinner while finishing up a TV show. I’ve reached the second-to-last white stripe and there is just one more black stripe to go. Then I’ll pick up the stitches on the first white stripe and lengthen it a little, before figuring out what the heck I’m going to do for the border. That will require some actual yarn purchasing, which should be a novel experience after all this coldsheeping. I haven’t purchased any yarn since Rhinebeck last October!

I finished What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, just in time to pick up another couple books I had on hold at the library. This one, Internal Time by Till Roenneberg, is about how your internal bock clock (which he categorizes by “chronotypes”) affects your life. I heard about “social jet lag” at a conference last fall, and the concept made sense to me: if you are forcing yourself to wake and sleep at times that don’t match your internal body clock (for work or your social life) then you experience something similar to jet lag all the time. As you might know from my last post, this has been a constant issue in my life, so I’m really interested to see if I can glean any advice from this book. The writing is a little stilted, but very accessible for non-scientists, which is always appealing!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along – Sleep, Snowflakes and Socks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

