Sleep Issues

Of all the people I know, I seem to be the one who needs the most sleep. While many of friends can survive on 4-5 hours if needed, I need at least 6 hours just to be able to function. And at least 8 hours on a regular basis to feel human. I’ve had a particularly tiring couple of weeks, culminating in a very busy and sleep-interrupted weekend (thankyouverymuch Knightley). Yesterday evening, I finally crashed: my 30 min nap turned into 4 hours, followed a full night’s sleep of 8 hours. That is 12 hours of sleep in a 14 hour period! And far from waking up refreshed and ready to go, I woke up still dazed and have spent the day struggling to stay focused.

Other than one incident on the weekend, I don’t usually have trouble sleeping through the night. I’ve always needed a lot of sleep, since I was a baby (at least according to my Mom) and I’ve never been an early riser. Lately, though, it seems to be getting worse.

Exercise seems to be a double-edged sword; I seem to need less sleep during periods  of regular running, but when I’m pushing my physical limits I am exhausted at the end of the day. It’s hard to find a balance.

It doesn’t help that, at the moment, I’m struggling to stay afloat on my thesis and other commitments. I know I’ve over-committed myself, but I can’t see a way to cut back without leaving other people in the lurch. As I worry about it and try to find a solution, I’m losing days, even weeks with no progress. Last summer I spent so much time avoiding work and feeling bad about it; now I feel like I’m “working” (if not on my thesis, then on some other commitment that has to get done) constantly and not making any progress. It’s so frustrating, and the tiredness is just making everything worse.

I don’t have trouble falling asleep, or staying asleep. I just have trouble feeling tired no matter how much sleep I get. As far as I know I don’t snore or have any other physical sleep issues, though I suppose there could be one I’m missing.

If you have any tips or things that have helped you in the past, please let me know in the comments. I’m starting to get really frustrated with this and I can’t think of what else to try.

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleep Issues

  1. Not enough sleep is rough. You have my sympathy. I LOVE sleep.

Leave a Comment

