In Which the Serger Finally Sees Some Action

I had a great weekend! The snow is still stubbornly holding on (we had a high of -7 today, sadly) so it was the perfect weekend to stay indoors and sew. My March theme of decluttering inspired me to dig out some projects that had been untouched for months.

First, I pulled out the pieces for my Stained Glass quilt, which I haven’t touched since the summer. When I put it away last I was halfway through a ‘step’ in the instructions, so I finished that step on Saturday and then sewed the next step on Sunday:

2015-03-23 18.42.35

 

Unfortunately these colours are very difficult to photograph with my little smartphone camera. They are slightly less eye-smarting in person. Some of the colours do clash but hopefully in a large quilt with black borders around every piece it won’t be too bad.

Once I was tired of sewing straight lines I pulled out my serger from the closet and dusted it off. I think this is the first time I’ve used it since I moved to Ottawa 1 1/2 years ago!

2015-03-23 18.40.32

 

The serger is yet another thing I inherited from my Grandma when she passed away in 2008 (I got all the crafting stuff) and up until yesterday the only thing I’ve used it for was a Craftsy class on how to use your serger! I had cut up an old knit t-shirt that I wanted to use as hankies (so I can stop buying Kleenex), and decided that edging them would be a good chance to practice on the serger. This was a mixed success; the edges didn’t have to be perfect (and they aren’t!) but the fabric was very slippery and hard to manage. Still, watching the serger trim the fabric was very satisfying. It has a smoother feed than my regular sewing machine too, which I enjoyed.

2015-03-23 18.41.01 2015-03-23 18.40.50

 

Now I have a dozen hankies of varying sizes for the next time I get a cold. They are very bright and very soft thanks to multiple washings. I’m glad I finally had a reason to use the serger, especially since its been taking up all that space in my closet for years now!

I’m going to put the serger away again for now, but all this sewing has gotten me excited about the Stained Glass quilt. I should be posting significant progress on that in the next month or so.

This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Which the Serger Finally Sees Some Action

  1. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review | One Stitch, One Step

  2. Pingback: WIP Motivation | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

