March Theme: I Have No Theme

2015-03-16 10.13.02

 

Gratuitous photo of Knightley chilling out in our apartment…it is a precarious perch but still one of his favourites!

My whole “monthly goals” idea kind of fell apart this month, mostly because I forgot about it. My February mindfulness theme turned out only marginally better. I realized that setting absolute bed times doesn’t work for me, because I apparently don’t like being told what to do, even by myself! I have been trying to build habits instead, triggers that will help me get off the couch and heading toward bed at a reasonable time. I tend to get stuck on the couch with my knitting and a TV show, and then hours go by before I can force myself up again. I still haven’t found a solution. I live alone so I like having the TV on for the noise and because I enjoy it, I just can’t seem to set limits.

One idea I had was to make myself more tired earlier in the evening. I’ve been trying to wake up earlier, hoping to shift my schedule by an hour or two. I’m also planning on getting back to a regular running schedule now that the Canal Skateway is closed for the season. Mostly, though, I’m trying not to worry about it too much. As long as I spend a good number of hours on campus getting work done, and as long as I don’t start sleeping later and later (which has happened before!) I’ll be content. This is probably the last time in my life that I’ll be able to wake up whenever I want and set my own hours at work, so I’m going to try to enjoy it!

I didn’t really plan a theme for this month, but a theme has sort of emerged as the month has progress. I’ve been able to do quite a lot of decluttering that I’d been putting off for awhile this month, and it was a very positive experience. Decluttering one area makes me want to tackle another, so hopefully by the end of this month I’ll have made considerable progress. It feels like a good Spring theme too, and we could really use some Spring feeling around here. I’ll try to check back at the end of the month with a review and purposeful goal/theme for April!

This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

