Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-03-18 11.44.18

 

I was so inspired by my success with the Snowstorm Cowl and Hat set that I cast on another project to use up the rest of the yarn that I received in the same ‘donation’. This is Patons Canadiana, a 100% acrylic that knits up a little scrunchy but softens incredibly in the wash. I have almost three balls of the white and two smaller balls of black, which if my math is correct should be enough for a baby blanket. I will have to knit a border on it to get it up to the minimum size that the charity I’ll be sending it to requires, but that will look better anyway. I did all the math last night and cast on 172 stitches. My plan is to knit strips, alternating white and black, with the white in stockinette and the black in garter. It’s an experiment. A long experiment, which should be obvious given that it is a blanket but was somehow surprising to me last night. I’m definitely going to have to alternate with other projects to keep my interest up.

I am still slooooooooowly making my way through One Hundred Years of Solitude. I may put it aside for a new book that I just picked up from the library, but for now I’m sticking with it. It is a very rambling book.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

