It’s a Marathon, Not a Sprint

I tend to gravitate to projects on my list that I can get done quickly. I enjoy the sensation of crossing things off the list so much that I tend to avoid those projects that take time. I’d rather do 3 or 4 quick tasks, even if they aren’t important, than 1 long task that really needs to get done. Plus, if I spend a lot of time working away at a to-do list and it doesn’t get shorter quickly enough, I get discouraged.

This is something I struggle with in my working and home life, but it also seems to come up in my crafting life too. For a long time I preferred knitting smaller projects instead of a large sweater or blanket, and I would get tired of quilts that took too long to piece and shove them to the back of the closet.

So you can imagine my surprise when today I looked at my most recent crafting projects and realized they are both long, slow projects; “marathons” rather than “sprints”.

Remember Citron, the never-ending lace-weight, mostly stockinette shawl that has been the subject of so many of my YarnAlong posts? Well, it turns out I wasn’t knitting a ball of infinite yarn, because yesterday I cast off the very last stitch!

2015-02-09 10.23.36

After last week’s Yarn Along post I did end up running out of yarn before the end of the ruffle, so I ripped back the last repeat and re-knit the ruffle. I have no idea how many stitches were in that last row, but it took me about 2 hours to cast off the entire thing. It has precisely 2 ends that need weaving in, and then I’ll block it. There are about 3g of yarn left over that I’ve thrown into my hexipuff stash. It is the cutest wee ball of yarn ever.

The other “marathon” project I have going on at the moment is the Quilts of Valour quilt top. It got put aside when I had to take off for London, and I just picked it up again last night. I didn’t take any in-progress photos, unfortunately, but I’m about halfway through the final seam on the second set of blocks. Once that is done (and the marathon pressing session that follows), I will finally be able to lay the blocks out and decide on an arrangement. I’ll still have to piece the rows, then sew them together, then sew on the borders, but it feels like the end is in sight! I’m hoping to have it done by the end of the month so I can show it at the Ottawa Valley Quilting Guild meeting.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

