Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

When I posted my Yarn Along post last Wednesday, I’d just found out that my grandfather was in the hospital. He passed away later that evening, at age 87, peacefully and very much in the manner he would have wanted. I took a week off from this space to spend time with my family, to grieve and to help with funeral arrangements. Now I’m back in Ottawa and slowly getting back into my day-to-day life. Part of that is getting back to the blog; I’m not really feeling very crafty at the moment but I’m sure that will come back with time. A semblance of normalcy is really what I’m going for at this point.

2015-02-04 10.05.31

 

I am so close to finishing Citron. I added several repeats to use up all the yarn, so it is huge and since I’m working on the ruffle (which has double the stitches of the plain section) there are hundreds of stitches in each row. I’m playing a little game of yarn chicken with the tiny ball of yarn, and I’m not sure what I’m going to do if the ruffle turns out too short. I’m just going to keep knitting and hope it works out.

I didn’t get a lot of reading time this past week so I’m still working on Lean In. It is overdue at the library, too, so I really need to finish it! I like her writing style, and the message of the book, far more than I was expecting. A few more days and I should be done.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Donna says:

    I’m so very sorry about your grandfather. Hugs to you from afar ❤

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. My condolences and prayers for you and your family.
    The green is beautiful! I’m hoping you have enough yarn to complete it, and can’t wait to see it.

  3. Sorry for your loss. I find the repetition of knitting very therapeutic, i hope it helps. I love a good game of yarn chicken too!

  4. Pingback: It’s a Marathon, Not a Sprint | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

