2015 – Goals Make a Comeback

In the first four months of 2014, I wrote long detailed posts about the personal goals I was attempting to meet. There were categories, and each category had a monthly goal, and it got complicated fast. Needless to say, my success with each of those goals was incredibly mixed. There were a few that worked out, especially the craft-related ones, but I failed the exercise and sleep goals month after month.

Then, after four months of diligently posting updates, I forgot all about them! I don’t remember even thinking about all those goals after April. Despite ignoring my formal goals, I think I have improved on a few things over the course of 2014. Here is my review of those goals from way back in January 2014:

Exercise: I’m back on a semi-regular running schedule, and up to 4K in straight running. At this point I’m just going to keep ramping up my speed and distance until I hit a wall. In the long term I’d love to run a 10K but that seems very far off at the moment.

Healthy Eating: I went into a bit of a dietary tailspin at the end of 2013, which prompted my 2014 goals in this area. At the moment I feel pretty comfortable with how I eat. I’d like to experiment more with vegetable-heavy recipes in the summer, when they are in season.

Sleep: This is one area where I have not improved at all this year, and its going to be a big focus for the start of 2015.

Spinning: I learned to spin on a wheel this year, and spun up probably 1/3 of my fibre stash (there wasn’t much to begin with). I found more fibre when I reorganized my craft supplies last month, so I’d like to spin up the whole stash at some point. It’s not that urgent though.

Knitting: I’m pretty happy with my knitting year, which you can read more about in my Coldsheeping Wrap-Up post.

Decluttering: I got through a few areas of my apartment towards the end of the year, but there is still a lot more work to be done. I have a really hard time letting go of sentimental or potentially useful items, so it is something I am always working on.

2015

This year, I’m taking a slightly different approach. One thing I learned from my coldsheeping efforts this year is that I respond very well to monthly goals. A month seems to be just enough time to really work on something or build a habit, without losing track of the goal or getting discouraged. My plan for this year is to focus on one goal or habit per month, and hopefully by the end of the year I’ll have actually made a significant difference in my life. I will repeat goals if I don’t get quite to the point that I want to in the first month, but I’m going to try not to work on the same goal two months in a row.

My goal for January is to get more sleep. My sleep habits are atrocious, and they are affecting my ability to work and my self-esteem. I stay up too late, struggle to get up at a reasonable time and on to campus, and then I feel terrible and don’t get any work done. I’ve set an alarm on my phone that will buzz 75 minutes before my “bed time”: 15 minutes to finish up what I’m doing, 30 minutes to prepare for bed and 30 minutes in bed reading or journalling. I’m going to try to be lights-out by 11pm on weeknights and 12pm on weekends. For every 15 minutes I go over that I’m going to deduct 1 point from my spreadsheet. I’m not sure how effective that last part will be because I haven’t been using the points system as much lately but I can’t think of another “punishment” that I’m likely to follow through on.

I will post an update at the end of January to let you know how I got on this month and what my goal is for February!

This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015 – Goals Make a Comeback

  1. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

