Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2014-12-10 11.31.09

Having finished all my stalled and otherwise problematic projects, I’ve been going crazy casting on a new project every couple of days! Normally I try to hold back and only knit a few projects at a time, but I’m rolling with the cast on urge this time around. I’m spending about two weeks at my parents’ home over the holidays and it is way easier to pack projects that are already started. Plus, at this late date, I had an idea for a couple of potential gifts. I’m going to cast on and see how far I get, and then decide whether or not to go buy something for those recipients instead! Very low pressure Christmas knitting. The project shown above is not a gift, however, but a Ribbed Lace Bolero for me. It uses some soft, springy aran yarn my Mom brought back from a trip to Paris a few years ago, and I finally found the perfect pattern for it. Hopefully by starting the piece way out of season (it is definitely a spring/summer bolero) it will be finished at a time when I can actually wear it. That’s the theory anyway.

I just finished reading Victorian Lace Today, which was full of beautiful shawls with motifs from old Victorian knitting books. The book is very well done, with stunning photography and a very helpful section at the back on how to design your own shawl with Victorian motifs. I checked the book out of the library because I needed a reference for my Master Hand Knitter Level 1 report, but I’m glad I read it cover to cover anyway.

 

 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along

  1. Pingback: Conquer Lingering Tasks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

