Randomly, on a Friday

My crafting this week has been quite piecemeal, as I am trying to motivate myself to get through some long-standing projects by bouncing around between them. Every time I get bored, I just switch projects. It seems to be working, but it means it will be quite some time before I have anything completed to show for it! Since I’m heading to Montreal for the weekend in a couple, I’m resorting to a “random list” blog post today.

So, a random-length list of the random things on my mind at this moment:

1. Tim Hortons has a new coffee cup that looks like knitting:2014-11-27 17.30.13It bothers me that the “colourwork” doesn’t align with the stitches. Still, it is very festive. I think it is trying to raise awareness for a charity but if so they aren’t doing a great job of getting the message out, because I have no idea what the charity is!

2. My points system is back on track. I’ve gone running twice this week (no run today because I have to leave early to catch the bus) and I’ve been cracking away at old projects. I’m going to reward myself with a treat soon.

3. I’m worried all these points rewards are going to mess with my budget. I need to find some free rewards to implement instead of just always buying stuff!

4. I sewed the second cat blanket!

2014-11-28 11.41.32

Now both just need a little hand sewing to finish them off completely. This is one the (long) list of projects-to-complete. Hopefully I can get it done before going home for the holidays.

5. I got Knightley a tag for his collar

2014-11-27 22.41.26

He hates it, of course. He doesn’t wear the collar much since he is an indoor cat, but I’m taking him to my parents’ house for Christmas and he needs some kind of identification for the ride. I’m worried he will find a way to escape the car, and since he isn’t microchipped this is the best I could do. I have a harness/leash combo that I may use as well.

6. I managed to finish one of my mending tasks as well; my winter jackets had three tears along seams in the back, so I whipstitched them closed. I thought I was going to have to patch them as well but the stitching blends in with the fabric so it was a much quicker job than I expected. That one sat in the mending pile for almost a year before I got around to it, and it took less than an hour. I should learn from this.

7. Our weather here has been incredibly variable (16C one day and -5 the next!?!) but there has been just enough snow to remind me that Christmas is coming! I put up my tiny tree this week (sorry, no photos at the moment), and cast on for a knitted holiday decoration:

2014-11-28 11.42.36

I’m planning to knit 5 or 6 of them, but I need more wine corks. I’ll post more about them when I have at least one finished one to show off.

8. I decided not to knit any Christmas presents this year, as I spent all my yarn money at Rhinebeck! Somehow this makes me feel guilty, like I should be knitting gifts for my family and friends. What is that about??

Do you knit gifts for Christmas? Do you feel guilty if you don’t?

 

This entry was posted in Knitting, Seasons, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

