Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

2014-11-19 13.44.35

 

I started working on my Citron again this week. I’m finding that the laceweight yarn on such large needles make it impossible for me to knit this without looking. So it’s been relegated to evening TV knitting, rather than the knitting I do while reading academic papers or attending lectures. I finally caved on the last increase round and put in markers for every increase. They may have to move around a few stitches but it is the only way I can make sure I don’t miss an increase! With this pattern missing a few increases wouldn’t be much of a problem, but it throws off the next increase round and just drives me crazy. It’s better this way, although I did have to switch to yarn stitch markers because the thicker plastic ones were causing ladders in between the stitches that I’m not sure will block out. For an “easy knit” this one has presented more than a few stumbling blocks!

I picked up Delusions of Gender because it was recommended at one of the conferences I attended. It takes a look at the latest research on gender and gender perception, and tries to evaluate how much we can trust each study and summarize what the overall results are. I get the impression that the author was moved to write this book after noticing a trend in popular media towards claiming that research supports actual significant biological differences in how men’s and women’s brains work. What I have read of this book so far has convinced me that that is not the case; at the very least she shows just how difficult it is to study the effects of gender without biasing participants. It is amazing how much just asking people to identify their gender before a study (rather than after) affects how men and women perform on “gendered” tasks. It is making me think very deeply about the assumptions I have about gender and how those could be affecting my choices and behaviour without my knowledge. Very though provoking.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

