Remembrance, and a Quilt

Tomorrow is Remembrance Day here in Canada, when we take time to remember those who have fought and died to protect our country. I find the day is observed more intently here in Ottawa than anywhere else I’ve lived in Ontario, which I suppose makes sense. Most of the places I’ve worked didn’t even stop for the 2 minutes silence at 11am. Given the recent shootings in Ottawa the day seems more important than ever. I’m going to brave the crowds tomorrow and head down to the National War Memorial for the ceremony. I may not be able to see much but I’d like to be a part of it. I’ll be wearing my the knitted poppy I made a couple years ago when I got tired of losing the regular ones, plus one of the regular ones just so I fit in with the crowd.

It seems fitting that the only finished object I have to show for this past week is a Quilt of Valour quilt. I took one home from the Bee that only needed the binding sewed down, and I finished it the other day.

2014-11-09 11.49.24

 

The bow-tie pattern is one of my favourites, and this setting really shows it off. In person the colours are much more muted and the pink is much less fluorescent.

2014-11-09 11.52.11

 

It’s hard to tell in this photo but the quilting is beautifully done. It is a lovely maple leaf and spirals pattern and it makes the reverse as interesting as the front.

I only put a little work into this quilt but I’m glad I spent the week before Remembrance Day working on comfort for a veteran. The Quilts of Valour organization is quickly becoming one that is close to my heart, especially as the men and women involved go about it so quietly and determinedly, without much fanfare. Sort of the opposite of Remembrance Day ceremonies, in a way, but with the same purpose: letting our veterans know we appreciate what they have done for us.

November seems to me to be a very introspective month, and I’m finding this one particularly so. My thoughts on Remembrance Day seem to follow on that theme. I’m sure it will all get swept away by holiday excitement in a few weeks but for now I’m glad for this reminder to move a little slower and be a little bit more mindful. A reminder to pay attention, and give thanks where it is due. With any luck I’ll be able to carry these reminders with me into next year as well.

This entry was posted in Quilting, Seasons, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

