FO Parade – the Halloween Edition

Ok, so these FO’s don’t really have anything to do with Halloween. I finished both of them in October, though, so that sort of counts.

First, the Caput Helianthus hat, which I did end up blocking over a bowl thanks to a helpful comment on a Yarn Along post awhile ago:

2014-10-24 12.59.47 2014-10-24 13.00.28

It did not turn out as slouchy as the pattern implied, but I think that was because my gauge was a little too small. It doesn’t have the sharp increases of a tam, so it turned out to be more of a loose beanie. Perfect for this time of year, and the yarn is so beautifully soft that I don’t get that itchy forehead feeling when wearing it. I’ve worn the hat all week, but I have no photos to prove it. It’s very difficult to get a photo of the back of one’s head without help. I tried.

Second, I knit up a tiny little snowman (a Mochimochi Snowman, to be specific) as a thank you to the friend who looked after Knightley while I was away. It is 5cm tall and adorable.

2014-10-22 10.41.33

 

Finally, and most important, I finished Caeles! The epic knit that took me three tries just to get the right size. AND I finished it in time for Rhinebeck, even though it took over 24hrs just to dry from the blocking. That fibre holds water like crazy. I didn’t get a good photo at Rhinebeck, so this morning I threw it on and did the whole take-a-photo-of-yourself-in-the-mirror awkward poses.

2014-10-31 11.34.25This is the best photo. Looks good, doesn’t it? It has more ease than I was intending, but that means I can wear a camisole underneath if I want to. It is quite low cut, but no more than my more casual tank tops, and with a camisole underneath it would be reasonable. It is comfortable and breezy and I think it will make an excellent summer top. Those hems are totally worth all the extra knitting and sewing, they make the whole thing look so much more polished. Now I will put the pretty thing away in a drawer until it gets warm enough to wear it. Oh well. Next year I’ll start earlier!

I also finished all the knitting on my Castle pullover the other night, but it is still unblocked so I will save that for a future post.

If you are in Ottawa this weekend I will be at the Quilts of Valour annual Quilting Bee tomorrow afternoon. It runs all day at the Orleans United Church and it’s a great opportunity to pick up a quilt kit and try making a Quilt of Valour of your own! I’m going to finally bring back the top I finished in the summer, it’s been sitting at the back of my closet for months. Oops!

 

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FO Parade – the Halloween Edition

  1. sazcreates says:

    Ah the Caeles looks amazing! You must be so pleased 🙂 I once made a pair of Mochimochi snowmen and turned into earrings for a friend x

Leave a Comment

