Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

2014-10-15 10.22.48

I’m almost finish the Caput Helianthus hat, it just needs a few more rows of ribbing and an crochet cast off. I’m not sure I like the cast off, actually, so I may mull over it a bit before really finishing the thing. It also needs to be blocked rather aggressively as it is far too small at the moment. I’ve never blocked a lace hat before…maybe I should try it over a balloon? Any recommendations?

I just picked up the second book in Elizabeth Aston’s series based on characters from Pride and Prejudice, The Exploits and Adventures of Miss Alethea Darcy. Aston uses auxiliary characters from Pride and Prejudice plus a whole cast of ones she has invented herself. The narrative jumps from character to character so it can be hard to follow, but the overall effect is a charming one. The book is entertaining and engaging enough that I keep picking it up whenever I have a moment, but not so enthralling that I’m willing to abandon all other work to read it. That makes it the perfect book for my state of mind at the moment, and I’m really enjoying it.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Willow says:

    What a pretty hat! (I’m visiting from Ginny’s. *waves* Hi!) I absolutely love that shade of yellow for the sunflower hat. In answer to your question, whenever I block hats – lace or otherwise – I generally do so over a mixing bowl. I don’t use any that are too wide, and I use the ones on the smaller end of the scale that are more head-shaped/sized. I’ve never had a lot of luck with balloons and the mixing bowl is a lot more stable. I’ve also heard of people using child’s sized balls (hand balls or bouncy balls) with great success, though I’ve never tried it myself. Hope that’s somewhat helpful. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

