Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2014-10-01 12.56.19

My Caeles is so close to being done! I’ve knit the armhole edging on both sides, and the body is finally long enough. All I have to do now is knit the collar and sew down all four hems. Then I can block it and find out if all my sizing shenanigans actually worked out. I may be able to wear it with a long-sleeved shirt underneath and extend it’s season into fall, but I’m not sure about that. I’m so glad to finally be making progress again. If I can finish this and the other neverending sweater I have tucked in a corner somewhere, then I can go shop for sweater quantities at Rhinebeck without feeling guilty. That would be almost miraculous.

Not pictured is Mrs Lincoln’s Dressmaker, which I am still reading on my phone. It is an interesting point of view of the Civil War in America, but I find the author’s way of writing too cozy for the time period. It glosses over some of the harsher realities of the racial interactions at that time. More of a fun read than anything too serious, which I guess is not a bad thing at the moment. I’m alternating with Wartime, a very matter-of-fact look at Britain in WWII, and the stories of the Blitz and its aftermath in that book are just heartbreaking. So it is probably good that I have something relatively lighthearted to go back to when Wartime becomes too heavy!

 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

