Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

2014-09-24 12.16.12

 

I have finished the last preemie hat that I am going to knit for the foreseeable future, mostly because I have run out of appropriate leftover sock yarn. Maybe I will do a round up of all the hats on Friday. This last hat has 1×1 rib, because I forgot to switch to 2×2 rib (I’m using a tubular cast on that produces a 1×1 rib) Otherwise it is my standard 72 stitch stockinette hat, based on Carissa’s pattern. The yarn is self-striping sock yarn from an Ottawa-based dyer, leftover from some plain socks I made myself last summer.

I just started reading “How to Blog a Book“. It is not as interesting for my purposes since it is all about the business motivations and practicalities of the process. I’m probably going to read it all anyway, since it is such a small book. I’m also reading a book on my phone (in a library app) called “Mrs Lincoln’s Dressmaker“. The novel is from the perspective of a black dressmaker in Washington who develops a relationship with Mary Todd Lincoln after her husband becomes President on the eve of the Civil War. So I have a nice balance of fiction and non-fiction going on at the moment.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Donna says:

    I love the colors in your preemie hat. What an appropriate book!

  2. The colour of the yarn is beautiful.

  3. Foolish questions but I have tried and failed to attach the button to my blog and cannot get it to link to the yarn along. Halp!

    • Jess says:

      It depends on your blog software. If you are using the WordPress online dashboard, as I am, you just copy the code snipped that Ginny has posted on her Yarn Along blogs and past it into the blog you are writing. If that doesn’t work, try clicking on the “Text” tab on the top right of the blog editing box and paste it in there, then switch back to the “Visual” tab to see if it works. If you are using other blog software try their help section, look for something about embedding an image link in your blog and you should be on the right track. Hope that helps!

Leave a Comment

