Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2014-09-10 10.24.08

I actually cast on a new project the other day, a top-down beret in fingering yarn called Caput Helianthus. The yarn is luxurious Fiber Company Canopy Fingering, which is an alpaca, merino and bamboo blend. I’m hoping that means it will have lovely drape when blocked, although at the moment it is all scrunched up tight. I haven’t had the energy or inclination to cast on many new projects lately, but I need something besides preemie hats and hexipuffs to knit on the long drives and flights I have coming up, so I finally forced myself to tackle the next thing in my queue. I really want to tackle another sweater or an aran vest, but I don’t have any yarn in appropriate quantities at the moment. I may try to make my souvenir yarn purchases this month and next (at Rhinebeck!) in sweater quantities to give myself more options. This will decimate my coldsheep numbers but maybe it will help me get my knitting mojo back!

I’m still chipping away at Wartime. I’ve gotten to the chapters on the Blitz, and the stories and casualty numbers are absolutely devastating. With a book this sad I usually like to take a break and read something lighter, but I want to get as much of this book done while I’m home since it is too big to travel with. Despite the tragedy, I still like reading about the time period of WWII and what it must have been like to live through it. It helps me to empathize with people who are in warzones today.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

