Belated, on Montreal

I got back from a fantastic (and chock-full) weekend in Montreal very late on Sunday, and Monday was so taken up with “re-entry” tasks that I completely forgot to blog. Since I’m departing again on Friday (for Seattle this time), I’m going to have a mostly-photo-blog today. These are some of the highlights of my trip to Montreal:

2014-09-05 10.43.31

 

Amazing architecture! I love all the stone with colourful accents, it is so cheerful but still in keeping with the old building styles.

2014-09-05 16.47.14

The Latin Quarter was all dressed up for some kind of festival. We never did find out what it was, but we had fun wandering up and down the closed street.

2014-09-06 16.14.58

Landmarks like the Notre Dame Basilica, very formidable.

2014-09-07 10.55.20

There is a lot of juxtaposition between old and new architecture in Montreal, like this Marie-Reine-du-Monde Cathedral. Beautiful.

2014-09-07 16.11.15

 

And of course, no trip is complete without a stop at the local yarn store! La Maison Tricotee was absolutely charming, with a small cafe inside and all the luxury yarn brands you could ever hope to find. I had a hard time settling on one souvenir, but I managed to pick a single skein of hand dyed sock yarn from Riverside Studios. Funnily enough, Riverside Studios is actually closer to Ottawa than it is to Montreal, but I figured I had to buy yarn from Quebec as my souvenir! If I’m ever in the neighbourhood again I’m definitely going to pick up some Jamieson and Smith or Socks that Rock yarn, they had a huge selection and both brands are hard to come by in these parts!

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Belated, on Montreal

  1. Beautiful city in an amazing country. Love Montreal especially in autumn.

Leave a Comment

