Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

2014-08-27 08.45.02

There is still a hexipuff party going on at my house! Unfortunately this is rather boring blog material since one hexipuff looks much like any other. Maybe later this week I will get out the bag of all my hexipuffs and see what they look like all piled together.

I had to return Middlemarch to the library yesterday, so I will be reading the rest of it as an ebook on my Android. However, I also picked up this book, The Frozen-Water Trade, which I put on hold after hearing it referenced in Bill Bryson’s At Home: A Short History of Private Life. The Frozen-Water Trade is a book about the ice industry of the 19th century, in which tons of ice were harvested from lakes in the US in the winter, stored until spring and then shipped to Europe and the West Indies (as they were called back then). It was such a strange crop to harvest, but so useful since there was no artificial refrigeration. And it was all sparked by one man who thought he could turn it into a profitable business. I love histories like this, ones that focus on such a specific aspect or person but then give you a view of the whole time period through that lens. Plus, any book that takes place in the late 19th century, when so many things were changing, is bound to be interesting. I’m only a few pages in, but I’m enjoying it already.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

