Here We Go Again

As I write this I am sitting on an (outdoor) couch on my parents deck. My parents and sister have gone to work for the day, and my brother is still asleep upstairs. In about a half hour I’ll close my computer, pack up my car and head back to Ottawa. Back to school, back to work, back to my friends and my cat. In a way it feels like my summer is already over, although that could just be because it has been so chilly (for August) this week. My weekend at the family reunion was fantastic, despite the rain on Saturday. I got to spend time with some of my favourite people, and it was a blast. I also managed to forget all about the stress of last week. Unfortunately all that stress is about to come rushing back!

One thing I didn’t manage to do was finish Caeles in time for the weekend. All that ripping and re-knitting put me so far back I had no chance of catching up.

2014-08-18 10.10.56

 

It is getting very long but still sadly short of the necessary tunic length. It is also getting heavier, and harder to drag around with me. All that stockinette is perfect for conversation knitting, though! I was a little disappointed that I didn’t manage to finish it, but I will just have to find another event to wear it to. I’m sure I will love it once it is finished (and I keep trying it on so I know it will be the right size!).

I’m not sure how I’m going to manage the stress of the upcoming weeks. I have a lot of different responsibilities demanding my attention, and only so much time to get it all done. A lot of it is also self-managed, so it is entirely up to me to stay focused and not get distracted. The more important deadlines are long-term, but a lot of the more fun stuff has shorter deadlines, making it even more appealing. All that means I need to be at the top of my game. And find a way to manage the stress without getting overwhelmed. Hopefully I can carry some of the peace of this weekend with me into the fray. If I can’t…well I can always knit to take the edge off, right?

This entry was posted in Knitting, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here We Go Again

  1. sazcreates says:

    One step at a time, you’ll manage everything 🙂 x

Leave a Comment

