Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

20140806_100212

Well, my Caeles knitting was derailed last night. At this point it is all knit in the round, so I put the stitches on a length of scrap yarn, tried it on and discovered that it is Too Big. Given that my swatch grew by 3 stitches per inch on blocking, this is a problem. A Big Problem. So I blocked the thing (it is taking forever to dry) to find out just how bad it is….and it looks like I may have to rip the whole thing out. At the very least to the first decreases. That is about 3 balls of yarn worth of knitting. Very frustrating, especially since I had hoped to wear it to a family event the weekend after next. It is just possible that I can rip and re-knit by that point. I wish I had tried the thing on sooner!

Instead, I am working on my next-to-last Master Knitter swatch. Then I have to knit the project (a mitten) and I will be done with the knitting. I’m behind on the written work though, so I need to catch up on that.

After discovering that Jill Paton Walsh had released another Lord Peter Wimsey detective novel (continuing on from the work of Dorothy L Sayers, an author from the 20s and 30s), I immediately put it on hold at the library. I picked it up yesterday morning and I’m already almost finished! The font is oddly large, but the characters and the story are very comforting, like visiting old friends. This book is set in the 50s, which I don’t find as interesting as the interwar and WWII eras, but it is a fun read nonetheless. It is also set in Oxford, a place of endless fascination. I only wish it were longer!

 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along

  1. nikki says:

    So interesting! I’m going to check out that book! And I’m sorry about the frogging 😦 how frustrating to get so far before you realize. I do that far too often!

Leave a Comment

