Relativity

It has been a long week, chock full of all the things that make summer great: good friends, good food, and mediocre movies that are really just an excuse to see the friends and eat the food. I didn’t get a whole lot of work done, and will likely be playing catch-up this weekend, but it was worth it. The spinning wheel is still untouched, but with any luck I can catch up on that as well.

The combination of very active days, a few late nights and a cat that refuses to let me sleep in has led to my current state of severe tiredness. The tiredness has been increasing since about mid-week, and I was feeling very unhappy about it. My body seems to need more sleep than that of my friends, and I’ve never been able to pull the kind of all-nighter, party till the sun comes up shenanigans of the other 20-somethings I know. So I was not surprised that this week did me in, but I was also not that impressed. Shouldn’t I be able to get by on 7 hours sleep? One would think.

Then, I realized something. Today, the wonderful blogger Stephanie Pearl-McPhee (over at YarnHarlot) rode with more than 300 others into Montreal. She and some of her family and friends (plus those 300 others) biked from Toronto, 600km away, over the last 6 days to raise money for the People With AIDS Foundation. They biked all day for 6 days! And camped at night, with the crazy rain we have been having. That is a whole other level of tired, one that I can’t possibly imagine. It is a wonderful, amazing demonstration of determination and willingness to do whatever it takes to raise awareness and much-needed funds for a great cause. I’ve been reading Stephanie’s posts about training, and her tweets about the ride itself, and I’m always in awe of her dedication. And her ability to get up at 5:30am for training rides. I can’t even imagine what that is like.

So, no more complaining for me. I’m going to knit a little bit on my Caeles top and send myself to bed early. I’ve got big plans to go out kayaking on the canal tomorrow, and I’d like to be able to get up and go without having to deal with the after-effects of sleep deprivation.

A short note: after I posted my Yarn Along on Wednesday I went over to Ginny’s blog for the link-up and found this instead. A dear friend of hers passed away suddenly, at 21 weeks pregnant, leaving behind a grieving family. I don’t know Ginny or her friend Sarah personally but somehow through this crazy Internet blog-land we are still connected. I just wanted to mention it since it felt wrong to leave my cheerful Wednesday post up as if I was ignoring what had happened. My heart goes out to Ginny, and to Sarah’s family, in this terrible time.

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

