Those Beginnings I Was Talking About…

The title of my Monday post was “Endings and Beginnings”, and in it I described a list of all the projects that were almost-but-not-quite finished. Those would be the “Endings”. I meant to also talk about something that I was just starting, i.e. the “Beginnings”, but it was late and I got distracted and it never made it in!

I haven’t made any progress of any of the projects I wrote about on Monday. In fact, I seem to be back in a Startitus phase, where all I want to do is start new things and finish none of them. For instance, when I finished knitting the preemie hat from Wednesday’s post and realized I didn’t have enough yarn to immediately knit another one, I tossed it aside (ends unwoven), and cast on a swatch instead! A swatch with NEW yarn, no less.

20140702_180506

This luscious cotton/rayon/silk blend has a beautiful drape and is the yummiest plum purple colour. As soon as I had enough yardage in my yarn bank (I’m only allowed to buy 1 yard for every 3 yards I knit), I jumped on to yarn.com and ordered these lovelies. They arrived about a week later. It took me a few days to get to it, but the other night I finally cast on the swatch for the Caeles tank top that was in the 2012 summer issue of Twist Collective. I’m not usually a fan of non-wool yarns, but I love this one! It has more stretch than a pure cotton yarn, and the silk gives it a lovely sheen. The different fibres also take the dye slightly different, which gives the colour more depth.

A few more rows and I’ll be able to cast off the swatch, measure gauge, wash the thing and measure it again. Assuming I get gauge (who knows at this point), I’ll start doing the math to make sure the top will fit me properly. The pattern is very detailed with great schematics, so hopefully it shouldn’t be too much trouble. I may have to re-measure myself though, since it’s been almost a year since the last time I measured. I don’t think I’ve changed that much in a year, but I’d rather find out now than after knitting the top!

At this point, I’m just hoping I’ll be able to finish this thing before the weather turns cool again. Aside from the heat wave a couple weeks ago, we’ve been having a rather cool summer, which at least means I feel justified in not getting air conditioning. That said, I’d better get back to knitting!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Stash. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

