Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

2014-07-09 13.41.26

 

This is has been a quiet week for knitting…there is just so much else going on! I’ve been working on small, portable projects that are mostly stockinette so that I can knit while reading papers. And I do a row or two on my lace Faroe shawl, just to take the edge off and keep it moving! Pictured is the latest in my series of Preemie hats that I can almost knit in my sleep. They use up bits and pieces of washable wool or super-soft acrylic from my charity stash, and they are devastatingly cute. I pass them on to my guild and eventually they make their way to a local NICU. I hope they bring some parents out there comfort, because they certainly keep me from going crazy reading papers for hours! Plus, everything I knit for donation makes me feel virtuous as it is getting more yarn out of my apartment and where it can do some good. I love my stash, but at my knitting rate it is going to take years before I can buy more…and where is the fun in that??

My reading rate has also slowed this week, but the library pile is down to two (!) physical books and one e-book, so I am making progress! Don’t Make Me Think is a classic book on website usability, which is a topic near to my heart and my degree. It is wonderfully accessible book, full of humour and common sense and with no technical jargon. Anyone could read this book, not just tech people. As an aside, if you have ever had a website (or computer software) make you feel overwhelmed or even stupid….know that it is not your fault. It is the software or website’s fault (or rather their designers). It is not easy to make something completely intuitive but it is also far too easy to make it ridiculously difficult to use. So next time you just can’t get the computer to do what you want it to do…blame the computer. And seek out a better product. Sometimes, they actually do exist, and they are absolutely wonderful to use.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along

  1. Pingback: Those Beginnings I Was Talking About… | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

