Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

20140702_110539

A little departure from both my usual knitting and my usual reading. I put aside the infinite to-read pile in favour of the latest Knitting Traditions magazine. It is one of my favourite knitting magazines since it features a lot of articles as well as patterns. This issue is all about people (or cultures) that have used knitting to support themselves financially throughout history. I’m so glad I can knit for fun and not have to worry about production! Although I do occasionally dream of making my living just through knitting, it is probably way more fun as a hobby than it would be as a job. That said, I love reading about how different people in different times and places have knit to survive. The patterns in this issue are really lovely as well, paying homage to the articles that inspire them and yet still relevant to a modern knitter. The last article I read was about the gloves knit in Sanquhar, Scotland. I was startled to realize that I had passed through Sanquhar on my backpacking trip a couple of years ago, and never knew enough to stop there! Yet another reason I want to go back over that ground again…

I finished up all the yarn I had for Master Knitter swatches (more on that on Friday), so I cast on a cotton dishcloth to use up some of my small (inherited) cotton stash. I’m not a huge fan of knitting with cotton as I prefer the elasticity of yarn, but I need some new dishcloths and they don’t take long. This one has a cat pattern made up of purl bumps, it is so cute. As long as I don’t run out of yarn before then end, it should be a bright addition to the kitchen cloth rotation.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. perfectioknits says:

    You’ve piqued my interest with “Master Knitter swatches”. I’ve considered doing the Masters program myself. Would love to hear (read) about someone else’s experience and whether it’s worth the money. 🙂

    • Jess says:

      Whether it is worth the money depends on what you want to get out of it. I love getting certifications and proving I’m up to a certain standard, so it is perfect for me! I’ll try to do a more in-depth post about the Master Knitter program on Friday.

Leave a Comment

