Running….and Quilting

I’m a bit of a broken record these days…everything at OneStitch HQ is quilting, quilting, quilting. However, I’ve eased off enough to feel a little more balanced than I was last week. I’ve kicked the bug that was fuzzing up my brain, and got out into the sunshine on both Saturday and Sunday on the weekend. I had a meeting with my supervisor today and I’m feeling energetic about my thesis for the first time in weeks. Overall, I’m in a much better place than I was when I posted on Friday! Even though I did less quilting this weekend, I did manage to get a few more rows pieced together. These are the rows I had finished as of this morning: 20140623_084355After I took this photo I went over to my sewing/dining table to get something, and when I turned around, I saw this: 20140623_084811 Sneaky cat.

Besides sewing the rows, I spent most of my quilting time squaring up pieces and pinning them together. My strategy when I have this many pieces that I can “chain-piece” together in a row is to pin and pin and pin until I run out of pins. Then I sew all the pinned pieces, press everything, and repeat the process. It is remarkably efficient, and it means that I can do a few at a time whenever I have a few minutes, like while I’m waiting for the water to boil for tea. 20140623_084634There would be even more…but I ran out of pins. Still, the sewing should just fly by! If you try this, remember to take a photo of the final layout you want before pinning everything together. Once it is pinned together I find it impossible to remember which piece goes where, so I constantly refer back to the photo and the quilt schematic so I don’t mess it up and have to rip everything out!

Besides quilting, I also ran a 5K this weekend! It is only my second 5K race (the first was last spring), and I enjoyed this one a lot more. Even though I trained less for this one, I’ve been a lot more active lately than I was last year. I finished the 5K with a time of 36 minutes 12 seconds, so my goal by the end of the summer is to get under 30 minutes. I just might become a runner after all, despite my previous disinterest in all things involving exertion. It must be something in the water around here, everyone in Ottawa seems to love the outdoors. The enthusiasm is infectious after awhile!

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

