Quilting as Procrastination

It is no secret to my friends and family that I am really struggling with focus this summer. I do best when I have a clear direction and tasks with relatively close deadlines. That is why, despite the high stress levels, I did well in the Winter school term: I spent many, many hours working but for the most part I didn’t have any trouble staying on task. Not so this month and last. Instead, I’ve been diving into non-school projects, stressing about thesis topics without actually thinking about them, and generally avoiding work at all costs. This is not good, since the more time I waste now the more likely it is that I will need extra time to finish.

This is what they don’t tell you about grad school: the hardest part isn’t necessarily getting all the work done, it is staying on track when your deadline is a whole year in the future. Combine that with the fairly nebulous stage I’m at right now….and let’s just say I’m getting a LOT of quilting done. I thought I was getting back on track this week, but then I got struck done with a bit of a bug yesterday that was just bad enough to make thinking an unwelcome prospect. So, instead of thinking, I did this:

20140619_194909

All the blocks are done! And I’ve started on the red and white sashing. As soon as I laid the blocks on the floor, Knightley jumped down and claimed one of them as his bed. He was not happy when I tried to move him, either! I didn’t think I was a big fan of scrappy quilts, but whoever chose the fabrics for this one did a great job; they work really well together.

At least my day was productive in one sense, if not in the stuff I actually needed to get done. I’m hoping that I can get back on track this weekend and start next week with fresh motivation. If all else fails, I could always just finish the quilt!

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

