Bird Nests

Recently, I stumbled upon this campaign for knitted bird nests. That’s right, little knitted nests for baby birds. The organization that put out the call (like a Knitter Bat Signal…. Do we have a signal?) is WildCare, and they need the nests to cradle the orphaned baby birds in their care while they nurse them back to health. Apparently there is nothing like a sturdy, washable knitted bowl to keep the birds happy. Who knew? They also need many, many nests since birds poop a lot and laundry takes time.

So, I read about this campaign a little while ago, and then last night I finished my Leyburn socks (pictures to follow once blocking is complete). And I had nothing to knit! Well, nothing I wanted to knit. Instead, I dug around in my small inherited stash of charity yarn, which is where most of my washable yarn resides. I pulled out some that I thought might work, and I started knitting.

2014-05-23 20.28.17

And then today I wasn’t feeling that great, so I parked myself in front of the TV and knit some more…..

2014-05-23 20.27.52

By the end of the day, I had 5 knitted birds nests to send off to WildCare next week. It feels a little silly to send the nests all the way to San Francisco when there are surely more local bird care centres…but this one asked for my knitting so that is what they are going to get! If you want to join in the fun, all the information is on the WildCare help page.

2014-05-23 20.27.22

For some reason I find it hilarious that the nests all fit inside one another like little Matroyshka dolls. Stackable birds nests. This is my life now. Isn’t it great?

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bird Nests

  1. andipi says:

    Really good idea, who’d have thought they liked knitted nests? 😛

Leave a Comment

