Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

20140514_092832

I finished Wingspan the other day and have managed to wear it precisely once before the weather got too warm. I did get to take it to Show and Tell at my Guild meeting though, which made up for not getting to wear it. Normally I keep my sock projects as “on-the-go” projects, but since I now have three pairs in various stages of progress, I thought i might be a good idea to finish one at least before moving on to something new. So, I’m back to the Leyburn socks, and I’ve knit almost the whole foot of the second sock in only a few evenings. I guess my knitting in the evening happens a lot faster than knitting on the go. I’m going to have to cast on some summer projects soon, none of the pieces on my needles at the moment will be wearable until October!

Somehow, even though I spend my days reading academic papers, I have still been keen to read from all the piles of books that are taking over my apartment. I’ve gotten through three books from my to-read pile in the last month (one of which was the mammoth Book of Negroes, a beautifully written but heart-breaking book about the 18th century slave trade). I just picked up the book The Shop on Blossom Street by Debbie Macomber from my Knitting Guild library. I’m only a few pages in, but so far it seems like enjoyable knitting-based fiction (it is set in a yarn store). We’ll have to see how it goes. Apparently this book is the first of a series, so if I end up liking it….well let’s just say it won’t help my book storage issue. Of course, having too many books to read is not a bad problem to have!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Deborah says:

    I read the whole series and enjoyed it. Your socks are lovely. So far, I have only made plain socks but would like to try a pretty stitch like you are making.

    • Jess says:

      Hi Deborah! If you can make plain socks then you can make these, they are really just a stitch pattern (that isn’t all that difficult) on the top of the foot and on the whole leg of an otherwise plain sock. Nice and easy!

  2. Such a pretty pattern! The yarn is lovely too! Happy knitting!

  3. Donna says:

    Your socks look beautiful! I have that pattern on my list but have not gotten to it yet.

Leave a Comment

